Entebbe Airport deports 22 passengers for refusing to undergo coronavirus routine procedure

 Uganda has ordered 22 passengers from coronavirus hit countries return home after they refused to undergo a 14 day quarantine requirement,one of key precautionary measures against COVID-19.

Health Minister Jane Ruth Aceng all the 22 passengers are from Category 1 countries who were identified by health workers at Entebbe International Airport.

Category one includes seven countries; Italy, Iran, South Korea, France, China, Germany and Spain.

The ministry in Saturday warned that citizens in those should consider postponing non-essential travel to Uganda.

“Any traveler from these countries, including Ugandan nationals will be subjected to self-quarantine for 14 days on arrival to Uganda even if they do not exhibit symptoms of COVID-19,” Dr. Aceng said.

“We informed them about our procedure of self quarantine for 14 days. However, they were not willing to undergo this self quarantine. Today, they will return to their home countries,” she said noting that Uganda has no confirmed or suspected case of COVID19.

The Minister ordered health workers to strictly observe travelers from United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium, India, and USA over the same.

The Minister said all travellers from the rest of the world are supposed undergo the routine screening upon arrival and be advised accordingly on the measures to undertake while in country to prevent infection and where to report if not feeling well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *